Big Kyle's Blog
Just another super sweet blog

Joomla Final Project


The final project was a great experience for learning Content management systems.  I found the best way for me to learn Joomla was through playing with the options.  One of the components that really went well with my website was the picture gallery using Slimbox.  Slimbox was great for creating a simple and easy to use photo gallery.  There was a little code, but it was easy enough to understand.  Another aspect that went well was the Community Builder module.  This scared me at first because it looked really complex, but once I got it installed and running I found it pretty easy.  I didn’t go too deep into the advanced options, but the basics were simple enough to navigate through myself. 

One of the things that didn’t end up working so well was my logo.  I had made a logo in Adobe Illustrator for my website and I had hoped to implement it into the banner.  I asked my roommate to help and he tried for about 30 minutes, but every attempt resulted in failure.  I hardly know anything about code, so if he couldn’t do it, I knew I couldn’t do it.  It was a minor addition that I ended up putting in the content on the home page anyway. 

In the Future if I have a website I will definitely try to use Joomla because it was really easy to use.  I thought the extensions and support online was outstanding.  I wouldn’t really do much differently, but I would try more with extensions and plug-ins.  Overall Joomla is a remarkable system for someone who knows very little about coding and making a website.

No Responses to “Joomla Final Project”

Leave a comment