Big Kyle's Blog
Just another super sweet blog

Choosing a Web Host and CMS


For my WDMD 346 Winterim class we have to choose a web host for our final project.  I narrowed my choices down to 1and1 or GoDaddy.  I looked online for reviews to see which one was better.  What I realized was that GoDaddy was really slow because of how many people use it and 1and1 was slightly less slow, but still slow.  I also checked out prices and the two are pretty similar.  When I checked out forums that compared the two hosts I found the majority of people thought that 1and1 had terrible support and GoDaddy had decent support.  I’m not sure which one I will choose for my final project quite yet.

As far as choosing a CMS I have decided to go with Joomla! because Drupal is more confusing and I’m very new to working with Content management systems.  I think I will have a lot more support with Joomla! than Drupal and at the end I’m sure that’s what I’ll need.  It should be an interesting and challenging experience.

One Response to “Choosing a Web Host and CMS”

  1. I decided to go with 1 & 1 web hosting – it seems like the more secure choice. I’ve been reading too much negative feedback about godaddy.com – it seems too mainstream and too popular to have adequate support and bandwidth capabilities to suit my needs. Then again, 1 & 1 didn’t have the greatest customer support either. :\ Oh well, what can you do? (rhetorically speaking) I have heard that “inmotion hosting” was a quality web hosting company, however I have yet to check them out and as a non-WDMD major, I feel it is the safest alternative to stick with a host that the professor, as well as other students, are properly versed in – just in case.


Leave a comment